Publications

As part of my university activities, I regularly publish books in the Springer series "essentials" in collaboration with particularly outstanding Master's graduates.

Schiefer, G. & Gattner, R. (2019). Neuroleadership - the basic assumptions in critical analysis - Neuroscientific advancements of leadership theories in comparison.

  • In this essential, three central neuroleadership concepts are presented in a condensed form and critically examined. Through a systematic comparison with established leadership theories, the authors show that neuroscientific approaches are consistently based on insights from existing, leadership-theoretical considerations. Neuroleadership sees the key to successful leadership in the application of neuroscientific findings. This approach is celebrated by its proponents as a revolution in leadership theories, while critics see it as a reformulation of well-known theories. The extent to which a neuroscientific perspective in the form of "neuro-realism" is nevertheless helpful in formulating existing leadership theories more convincingly in the future is discussed in conclusion.

Schiefer, G. & Hoffmann, C. (2019). Learning motivation and readiness for further training of older employees - Help for managers in the context of agile human resource management

  • The learning motivation of older employees is a complex psychological construct that has hardly been addressed so far. In times of demographic change, it is of central importance to motivate older employees to engage in continuous learning in order to keep them employable. With increasing age, changes in learning and performance as well as a decreasing motivation for further vocational training become apparent. Gernot Schiefer and Corinna Hoffmann show the connections between motivation, performance and learning behavior and analyze motivation factors and learning obstacles of older employees. In a practical way, the authors present possibilities for companies to actively contribute to the promotion of learning motivation of their older employees.

Schiefer, G. & Nitsche, H. (2019). The role of the leader in agile organization - How leaders and companies should rethink now

  • This essential focuses on opportunities and limitations in implementing agile human resource management and presents approaches to support managers in their role. The authors outline the challenges of a manager who exemplifies an agile way of thinking and working to his or her employees. They work out how top management and human resources management can contribute to managers fulfilling this role. Last but not least, the dependency of the leadership culture on the corporate culture from the perspective of the executives is discussed.

Schiefer, G. & Gehrlein, L. (2021). Nostalgia as a mood enhancer - Theoretical introduction to nostalgic remembering and its emotional effects

  • This essential gives a detailed overview of Nostalgia. It goes back to the roots of the construct, shows how nostalgia is triggered, and presents the content of nostalgic memories. Furthermore, the authors show how nostalgia can be used to create positive effects. In addition to the positive effects, the limitations of nostalgia are presented and it is shown when and for which persons nostalgic time travel is not beneficial. In addition, the authors explore the question of what effects nostalgia has on the specific group of depressed people.

go to top

Veröffentlichungen

Im Rahmen meiner Hochschultätigkeit veröffentliche ich regelmäßig in Zusammenarbeit mit besonders herausragenden Master-Absolvent_innen, Bücher in der Springer-Reihe „essentials“.

Schiefer, G. & Gattner, R. (2019). Neuroleadership – die Grundannahmen in kritischer Analyse - Neurowissenschaftliche Weiterentwicklungen der Führungstheorien im Vergleich

  • In diesem essential werden drei zentrale Neuroleadership-Konzepte komprimiert dargestellt und kritisch hinterfragt. Durch einen systematischen Abgleich mit etablierten Führungstheorien zeigen die Autor_innen, dass neurowissenschaftliche Ansätze durchgängig auf Erkenntnissen aus vorhandenen, führungstheoretischen Überlegungen beruhen. Neuroleadership sieht den Schlüssel erfolgreicher Mitarbeiterführung in der Anwendung neurowissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse. Dieser Ansatz wird von seinen Vertreter_innen als Revolution der Führungstheorien gefeiert, Kritiker_innen hingegen sehen darin eine Umformulierung gut bekannter Theorien. Inwieweit eine neurowissenschaftliche Perspektive dennoch in Form eines „Neuro-Realismus“ hilfreich ist, um bestehende Führungstheorien zukünftig überzeugender zu formulieren, wird abschließend diskutiert.

Schiefer, G. & Hoffmann, C. (2019). Lernmotivation und Weiterbildungsbereitschaft älterer Mitarbeiter - Hilfestellung für Führungskräfte im Rahmen agiler Personalführung

  • Die Lernmotivation älterer Mitarbeiter_innen ist ein komplexes psychologisches Konstrukt, das bisher kaum thematisiert wurde. In Zeiten des demografischen Wandels ist es von zentraler Bedeutung, ältere Arbeitnehmer_innen zur stetigen Weiterbildung zu motivieren, um sie beschäftigungsfähig zu erhalten. Mit zunehmendem Alter zeigen sich Veränderungen der Lern- und Leistungsfähigkeit sowie eine sinkende Motivation für berufliche Weiterbildung. Gernot Schiefer und Corinna Hoffmann zeigen Zusammenhänge zwischen Motivation, Leistung und Lernverhalten auf und analysieren Motivationsfaktoren und Lernhindernisse älterer Arbeitnehmer_innen. Praxisnah stellen die Autor_innen Möglichkeiten für Unternehmen vor, wie diese zur Förderung der Lernmotivation ihrer älteren Arbeitnehmer_innen aktiv beitragen können.

Schiefer, G. & Nitsche, H. (2019). Die Rolle der Führungskraft in agilen Organisation - Wie Führungskräfte und Unternehmen jetzt umdenken sollten

  • In diesem essential werden Chancen und Begrenzungen bei der Umsetzung agiler Personalführung fokussiert und Ansätze dargestellt, Führungskräfte in ihrer Aufgabe zu unterstützen. Die Autor_innen skizzieren die Herausforderungen einer Führungskraft, die ihren Mitarbeiter_innen eine agile Denk- und Arbeitsweise vorlebt. Sie arbeiten heraus wie die Unternehmensspitze und das Personalmanagement dazu beitragen können, dass Führungskräfte dieser Rolle gerecht werden. Nicht zuletzt wird auf die Abhängigkeit der Führungskultur von der Unternehmenskultur aus Sicht der Führungskräfte eingegangen.

Schiefer, G. & Gehrlein, L. (2021). Nostalgie als Stimmungsaufheller - Theoretische Einführung in nostalgisches Erinnern und ihre emotionalen Auswirkungen

  • Dieses essential gibt einen ausführlichen Überblick über Nostalgie. Es geht zurück zu den Wurzeln des Konstrukts, zeigt wie Nostalgie getriggert wird und stellt die Inhalte nostalgischer Erinnerungen dar. Weiterhin zeigen die Autor_innen wie Nostalgie genutzt werden kann, um daraus positive Auswirkungen zu schöpfen. Neben der positiven Wirkung werden auch die Grenzen von Nostalgie dargestellt und es wird aufgezeigt, wann und für welche Personen nostalgische Zeitreisen nicht vorteilhaft sind. Zudem gehen die Autor_innen der Frage nach, welche Auswirkungen Nostalgie auf die spezifische Gruppe depressiver Menschen hat.

Nach oben